Jeannie Gayle Pool, Composer and Lyricist (ASCAP)

List of Compositions

(in chronological order by date of completion)


  • A Woman of Independent Means, for narrator, bassoon, and recorded tape (1983)


  • Episodia No. I, for flute, clarinet, and bassoon (6’54"); premiered November 2000*
  • With Pleasure, for viola and cello; composed for Cynthia Fogg and Tom Flaherty; (Quasi Rubato 3:17; Espressivo 1’35"; Allegretto 2’15"; Tranquillo 3’11") premiered January 2001*
  • Dance by the Sea, for alto saxophone and orchestra; premiered May 1996



  • Nobody Knows the Trouble I’ve Seen, for youth orchestra*
  • Kum Ba Yah, for youth orchestra*
  • This Little Light of Mine, for youth orchestra*
  • Oh, Lord, Thank You for this Morning, for SATB and piano (1997); music and lyrics by Jeannie Pool



  • Tum Balalaika (1998)
  • On the Other Shore, for SATB, piano; arrangement of "white" spiritual
  • Who Built the Ark?, for youth and adult choirs, hand percussion, and piano (1998); premiered May 1999*
  • The Spirit Now and Again Appears, for flute and children’s chorus (1998), based on Native American tune and lyric; premiered November 1999
  • Give Us Grace, choral response (1998)



  • Get On Board! Medley of American train songs for youth orchestra, premiered May 1999
  • Episodia II, for chamber orchestra (Serenade 4’; Simpatico 2’48"; Whimsy 3:54"; Such Sweet Sorrow 2’50"; Tango 2’37"); premiered April 2000, In Praise of Music Concert Series, La Canada, CA, and Claremont Graduate University, Claremont, CA. *
  • Cantata: We Believe in You O God, for SATB soloist, SATB choir, chamber orchestra, organ, handbells, and bagpipes (32’); premiered January 2000*
  • Fantasy for Organ, written for Robert York
  • Care for Each Other, lead sheet, based on John 13




  • Arrangement of John Scott’s Rest Eternal, for soprano, orchestra and piano; premiered January 2000*
  • Arrangement of The Little Drummer Boy, for boy soprano, strings, piano, and percussion; premiered December 2000*
  • With Gratitude for solo bass (Gratitute 3’10"; Waltz 1’; Love Song for a Daughter 2’20"; Romp 3’46"); composed for David Young, premiered at Los Angeles City College, January 2001.*



  • Suite for Violin and Piano, commissioned by violinist Brian Leonard, pianist Delores Stevens; premiered in February 2001; broadcast live on K-MOZART from Los Angeles County Museum Concert
  • First movement of Secret Life of Paper Cranes, in memoriam Toru Takemitsu, for string orchestra, later renamed "Flight" (7’)*
  • Jonah, music and lyrics by Jeannie Pool, 1-hour length musical; premiered August 2001, Church of the Lighted Window Summer Musical Theater Workshop, La Canada, CA.*
  • Verano Blues* and Primavera, from Four Seasons, for clarinet and piano; premiered November 2001.
  • Medley of Gospel Train Songs, for youth and adult choirs, hand percussion, and piano (2001); premiered May 2001*



  • Otoño, for clarinet and piano (one of Four Seasons for Clarinet and Piano), completed July 2002; Duration: 6 minutes; premiered November 6, 2002, Fullerton College Recital Hall, The Price Duo (Berkeley Price, clarinet and Deon Nielsen Price, piano).*
  • Sheer Delight! for tenor, flute (doubling on alto flute and piccolo), bassoon, and harp (Words by composer); completed September 2002; premiered November 3, 2002 by tenor Jonathan Mack, flutist Geraldine Rotella; David Riddles, bassoon; harpist Gayle Levant. In Praise of Music Concert Series, Church of the Lighted Window, La Canada, California. Duration: 16’*
  • Invierno for clarinet and piano (one of Four Seasons for Clarinet and Piano), completed October 2002; Duration: 5’
  • Fantasy for Anne Boleyn, solo piano piece, commissioned by Beverly Serra-Brooks. Completed October 2002. Premiered May 2003, Fullerton College Recital Hall. Duration: 6’*
  • Unto Us A Child Is Born Christmas Medley, vocal soloists, SATB Choir, string quintet, organ, percussion and congregational singing; composed for and premiered by Church of the Lighted Window Chancel Choir, Harold Daugherty, conducting, December 15, 2002, La Canada, California; completed December, 2002. Duration: 7’50"*
  • In Memory of Loved Ones Lost, string quintet and piano; completed December, 2002; premiered December 15, 2002, in Praise of Music Concert Series, La Canada, California. Duration: 4’50"*



  • Movements 1 and 2 of The Secret Life of Paper Cranes (2001-2003) for string orchestra: Morning (4:20); Promenade (2:25). Premiered June 22, 2003, Church of the Lighted Window Orchestra, Joel Lish, conducting.*
  • Character Matters and Diversion for piano solo (2003) for Delores Stevens
  • Anomaly Trio for clarinet, cello and piano (2003) for Kaye and Ronald Royer: 1) Cool Fusion (3:35); 2)Weird Science (3:25); 3) Free Energy Rondo (2:30);To be premiered October 3, 2003, Toronto Les Amis Concert Series



  • Character Matters for String Quartet (10'). Written for the Kirby String Quartet of Toronto, Canada, and premiered on the Les Amis Concert Series, October 17, 2004, at Heliconian Hall, performed by Aisslinn Nosky, Violin; Julia Wedman, Violin; Max Mandel; Viola ; and Carina Reeves, Cello; performed also on the March 13, 2005 concert of the Los Angeles Chapter of the National Association of Composers, USA, at Church of the Lighted Window, La Canada, California, string quartet led by Darius Campo.
  • Cinematic Suite for String Orchestra (17'). Written for the Toronto Sinfonietta. Premiered January 23, 2005, Royal Ontario Museum, conducted by Ronald Royer. Also performed June 26, 2005 by the CLW Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Joel Lish, La Canada, California.



  • Old-Fashioned Dance Suite for violin, oboe, cello and guitar (17'). Premiered April 24, 2005 at the Church of the Lighted Window, performed by the Kibbe Family Trio with guitarist Gregg Nestor.
  • Latin Passions for solo piano (6'). Commissioned by Nada Kolundzija for the 37th Annual Belgrade New Music Festival, concert scheduled for October 13, 2005.
  • Overture for Orchestra (4'), written for David Amos and the Tifereth Israel Community Orchestra of San Diego, California.
  • Film score for Peggy Gilbert and Her All-Girl Orchestra, film directed and produced by Jeannie Pool. Narrated by Lily Tomlin.

*Demonstration recording available.

Currently available from Jaygayle Music and Theodore Front Musical Literature, Inc. :

Fantasy for Organ (1999) $4

Invierno for clarinet and piano (2002) $8

Primavera for clarinet and piano (2001) $8

Suite for Violin and Piano (2001) $18

Verano Blues (2001) $8

When God Calls Us to Serve (from Jonah 2001) $4

With Pleasure for viola and cello (1996) $12

For further information, contact:
Jaygayle Music (ASCAP)
P.O. Box 8144
La Crescenta, California USA 91224-0144